Tags

, , ,

I love love love love crayons! No lie. I used to collect them and hoard new boxes. I love the way they smell, the crisp wrappers, the pointy ends and the cute little sharpener on the bigger boxes. When I taught I saw so many crayons go into the circular filing cabinet and even in my student teaching my lame sponsor teaching made me sort through hundreds of crayons during one of my days teaching (that almost took the love right out of me). For Christmas two years past I asked my bro to buy me the Crayola Crayon Maker… I would sit up late at night peeling crayons and melting them down into beautiful creations and then well giving them out for prizes. This is when I began to love the broken and discarded crayons as much as the beautiful, shiny new ones.

So now after showing my insanity and love of crayons I decided to make recycled crayons for the babe’s birthday party. I wanted to try something new instead of using the crayon maker and I found this.

great crayon idea!

great crayon idea! flickr.com

You search and boom Pinterest has it! So I found on sale at Meijer a silicone pan. It has daisies which I thought would be perfect for a May birthday. Rummaged through my bins and found a sack of old crayons. I then started peeling and breaking the crayons into pieces. (I think it would be faster to use an exacto knife and another knife to cut).

 I just used my fingers since I am a BIT accident prone. I then began to fill the daisies until they were full. When I got halfway finished with the tray I preheated the oven to 230 degrees.

After I had the tray full I put the silicone tray on a baking sheet. I was worried about the flimsiness and for the crayons to spill out into my oven. A mess that I did not want to tempt. I began by setting the time for 15 minutes as shown in the tutorial but after checking they were not quite melted.
So I set the timer for 10 more minutes. So 15+10= 25 mins of cook time. Sorry I didn’t get a pic of the not quite melted ones I was making baby food at the same time. Ok so now they were melted. I took them out and let them set for a minute. You can tell when their shine starts going away.
Then I popped them in the freezer and when about my business not remembering they were there until about 20 minutes!! So I can’t tell you how long it takes for them to completely set up.
I then began to pop them out and you can see from the pic that some residue is left behind and that is why you should always make sure that you are OK with using a pan only for crafts! Ok so not totally finished with them all, I still have another sheet or two for the party.
~Ashlee
