Tags

, , , ,

Lately The Babe has not quite been into the food that I have been making her for six months. I have always used locally sourced vegetables and fruits when I can find them, with most of the veggies coming from my backyard or from the farmer’s market. In the past three months she has become VERY independent with wanting to feed herself and it kind of makes the food she likes hard for her to handle. She has her dad’s taste in her when it comes to food and still is picky about the textures that I give her. So I have had to continue to puree things or find items that are crunchy. I have been scouring Pinterest and some baby friendly food websites and made TWO brand new meals today.

For breakfast I whipped up some pumpkin pancakes that I found here and here is the recipe taken from the website:

http://www.wholesometoddlerfood.com/toddlerbreakfast.htm

Pumpkin Pancakes
1 C whole wheat pastry flour – 3/4 C unbleached white flour
1 Tbs baking powder – 1/2 tsp salt (I omitted)
2 tsp cinnamon -1/2 tsp ground ginger -1/4 tsp allspice – 1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 eggs
1 C pureed pumpkin or winter squash
1 tsp vanilla
2 C milk
3 Tbs canola oil

Stir (and sift) together all the dry ingredients in a med. size
bowl. In another bowl, beat the eggs with the pumpkin & vanilla.
Beat in the milk & oil until smooth. Add to flour mixture. Cook as usual! These smelled *wonderful* while cooking….like Christmas! SOURCE: “Beyond the
Moon” cookbook by Ginny Callan  **Freezes Well**

I was slightly confused by the measurements because of the dash marks and added more flour than should have been used. But I quickly remedied it by adding the rest of the can of pumpkin and some more milk.

Here is the lunch of the day! Which travelled really well on our walk.
Mini chicken pot pies made w/ Bisquick

Mini chicken pot pies made w/ Bisquick

bettycrocker.com

Started by gathering the supplies. I made the batter part first so that I could have it ready and in the muffin tin for the filling.

The filling before could be used for older children and adults when chopped up a little finer, but she my LO is a bit picky with her food I shoved all that into a blender and pureed the whole lot before adding it to the muffin tin.

I had a couple that didn’t get filled so i just added some frozen mixed vegetables. Each of the tins also received a bit more cheese. Then into the oven for the recommended time and temperature and all I had to do was clean up as it was baking.

I snuck in a taste because if I won’t eat it why would I expect her to. Well with pureeing all the ingredients it made a blob in the middle that didn’t really settle in with the batter. so next time I will mix it up some more in the pan before baking.

It was a SUCCESS! She ate it up on the wall but I failed to get an action shot because she was whining at me for more. So till next time. Oh and by the way I don’t always think of new recipes to give her. I do make her food weekly if not daily. We have been enjoying quinoa as of late, plus lentil, abc pasta, homemade tomato sauce and grilled cheese to name a few!

~Ashlee

P.S. An apology to Christina is needed since I stole this from her board. I was desperate what can I say to find a delicious meal that my LO would devour. But on that note I still want to make an adult version SOON! 😉

