Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Most people that know me know that I post a lot of things about my daughter. But I also seem to find projects that I know I could make for her and they seem to be filling up my craft space, as well as, my pinterest boards. I was confining them to one location but as I continue looking I keep finding them being put in other areas. In the past couple weeks I feel like I have been on hiatus from crafting and all that implies, because well life has a way of detouring you sometimes. I love reading other people’s blogs and I could probably list at least 4 that I crave to read when I get up in the morning. I think wow what dedication they have to post everyday and sometimes twice a day. I know that some of the blogs are by people that get paid to do it, but I also know that it is something that they love. When I started blogging a few years back I knew that it was something that I craved but I was never able to find my niche. The more I read blogs the more I know that some just have to have more than one blog to keep it all together or maybe to keep it all separate. That is why I have found myself making a new blog in the last month or so, one that pertains more to my personal life and family. You can check it out here The Schnell Family Blog. This is my attempt to keep a running record or a journal of sorts of The Schnell Family happenings.

Ok enough of that. This post was really supposed to be about a Family Command Center that I have put together. I have been seeing here and there on Pinterest of menu boards, calendars, chores charts… but I knew that I would want it all in one place because well I am super organized when it comes to my stuff and practically I will be the only one that is using it most of the time. This project took me over two months because of getting materials, doctor appointments, physical therapy, and well a one year old that is crazy! HA! So here are some of my inspirations:

calendar

calendar

lindycottagehill.blogspot.com

DIY Menu Board

DIY Menu Board

sarahpotterphotography.com
The project started here thinking that I would want to paint the frame black. This is another frame that I picked up at an antique store for $5. Such a steal but shh don’t tell them that. This one has the glass in tack and a great piece of hardware. Once I finished painting it I thought the paint looked too flat and almost gothic. Not quite what we go for here at the Schnell’s.

I decided even though I didn’t like the paint that I needed to lay out the details to get a feel for what I was getting myself into. Also so I could make a list of materials that I still needed to purchase. You can see in the bottom right corner of the frame two bottles of paint. This picture was also sent to the Hubs for some direction. I also sent this pic to Christina to get her opinion of what type of clip I should use, but she didn’t quite understand what I was asking from the picture.
So I did a quick repaint and sent the picture again and well I just wasn’t happy with it. This one going into hour 2 of nap and if I haven’t said already I get about 3 1/2 a day of crafting unless I work at night.
Since I couldn’t decide on the paint I decided to seal the glass since it is an old frame and when I did some of the cleanup it didn’t quite feel safe. So the Hubs bought me some clear sealant that works on glass. Sorry I didn’t get a pic. You can see in this one that it looks white but after what seemed like an eternity of dry time it is clear.
By this time it has been about a month with this window sitting in my dining room. See I am terribly horrible at making straight lines and I was hoping my Hubs would be of some use. But I got tired of waiting so I pulled out his t-square and my sewing ruler and got to business. I used a permanent marker on the back of the glass to make the lines. I began by measuring the amount I had to work with then divided by how many days and then weeks.
I had this notion in my head that I could use this handy stencil and some acrylic paint to put on the letter for the days of the week. Well to my amusement and failure paint + glass= failure! I scratched that idea sent out a few texts to the Hubs and then decided to go back to the handy dandy permanent markers.
At first I thought that it looked like a lot of empty space so I added a quote to the back of the window. It reads “One thing you can’t recycle is wasted time” ~Anon. I thought it was clever and fit us because we are all about recycling. When I flipped the frame is was crooked and I remembered that I needed a space for the month. So a little cleaner and it was gone. That is why it’s important for anything you want to stay that it needs to be applied to the back of the window.
I must have forgotten to take picture of the “S” that you can see clearly through the white fabric. I just took some Heat ‘n Bond and applied it following the directions to the fabric. Traced my stencil to the wrong side. Cut out the S and then found where it would be place. I then marked with a fading marker where the center would be. I then followed the directions and applied it to the front of the fabric. Oh and by the way no I didn’t have fabric for this I just cut a piece from a sheet that doesn’t get any use.
Make sure that you start on one side and pull the fabric taut before stapling that way there are not wrinkles left. After stapling I trimmed off the excess fabric.
I found some teeny tiny clothespins at my local Joann’s and decided to paint them a light gray. This was probably the messiest part. FYI make sure you don’t paint the insides, if you happened to do this just wait till they dry and open each before gluing to project.
On the side of the frame I stenciled the word “Chores” and used hot glue to attached the clothespins to each letter. I had first thought to have a chore for each day, but I find myself doing more than just one thing. That way I have 6 pins to get done in a day.
I stenciled the word “Menu” and attached clothespin to the bottom of the frame under each coordinating day of the week. For the menu and chores I found some cardstock and borrowed some tag punches from my friend Heather in different sizes. It took me about a whole nap to punch out enough for all the chores and menu, plus a few more.
Well whew finally finished! It took about a week after I finished it to get the Hubs to hang it up. I would do it myself but with our old house we have to be extra careful with making holes and hanging heavy projects. So what do you think?
Ashlee
